September 17 – Honduran Teacher’s Day

Municipality of Esparta

The municipality of Esparta belongs to the department of Atlántida.

It has its origins in 1936 as the village of San Cristóbal or Colorado, within the jurisdiction of Puerto Sierra – the current Tela – which belonged to the department of Yoro.

On January 1, 1927, due to the floods of the Leán River and the decline of trade, the municipality was relocated to the village of Esparta under the administration of Miguel Paz Barahona.

General Information of Esparta

Origin of its name: Its name comes from the Greek city of Sparta, whose inhabitants were characterized by their military discipline.

  • Territorial Area: 398.10 km2
  • Population: 15,774 inhabitants (2012)
  • Date of Creation: September 2, 1902
  • Patron Saint Fair: August 15, on the day of the Virgin of the Transit
  • Villages and Hamlets: 45 villages and 132 hamlets
  • Altitude: 15 meters above sea level

Main Economic Activity

Cultivation of African palm, banana, citrus fruits, coconut, sugarcane, coffee, corn, beans, sweet potatoes, and taro; raising of cattle (bovine, porcine, ovine, and equine); rabbit farming.


  • Health: 2 CESAR (Rural Health Centers)
  • Education: 3 centers for preschool education, 4 centers for basic education, 8 centers for in-person secondary education, 50 primary education centers, and 17 kindergartens


It is located in the coastal plain of the Caribbean, crossed by the railway line from Tela to La Ceiba; the San Juan River passes very close by.


  • North: Caribbean Sea
  • South: Municipality of Yoro (Yoro)
  • East: Municipality of La Masica
  • West: Municipality of Atizona