September 17 – Honduran Teacher’s Day

Municipality of San Fernando

San Fernando is a municipality in the Department of Ocotepeque in Honduras.

Its first name was «Leoneras,» perhaps because there were many jaguar felines in the area.

It was founded in 1861 as a village of the Municipality of San Jorge. On May 16, 1917, it was given the status of Municipality. In the division of the Ocotepeque Department in 1926, it was one of the municipalities forming the La Encarnación District.


Located on the border with Guatemala, the municipality borders Copán Ruinas and Cabañas to the north, San Jorge and La Encarnación to the south, San Jorge to the east, and the Republic of Guatemala to the west, at a distance of 3.5 km from the border according to the Institute of Property.


  • San Fernando
  • El Manzano
  • El Rosario
  • Nuevo Espíritu
  • Queseras
  • San Antonio de Curarén
  • San José de Curarén
  • Santa Inés
  • Sulay