September 17 – Honduran Teacher’s Day

Municipality of San Francisco

The municipality of San Francisco belongs to the department of Atlántida.

Its origins can be traced back to the village of El Jimerito, which belonged to the municipality of El Porvenir. However, it obtained the status of a municipality on January 14, 1903, during the administration of Terencio Sierra.

General Information of San Francisco

Origin of its name: It was named in honor of Don Francisco Matute, who worked towards the creation of the department of Atlántida. (El Jimerito is the name given to a certain type of bee and the honeycomb it produces).

  • Territorial Area: 284.34 km2
  • Population: 12,028 inhabitants (2012)
  • Date of Creation: January 14, 1903
  • Patron Saint Fair: October 4, on the day of San Francisco de Asís
  • Villages and Hamlets: 12 villages and 15 hamlets
  • Altitude: 19 meters above sea level

Main Economic Activity

Cultivation of African palm, citrus fruits, banana, passion fruit, lemon, sweet potato, malanga, watermelon, and a variety of vegetables; raising of livestock (sheep, pigs, horses, and sheep); poultry farming.


  • Health: 2 CESAR (Rural Health Centers) and 1 CESAMO (Departmental Hospitals)
  • Education: 3 community centers for preschool education, 4 centers for in-person secondary education, 14 primary education centers, and 4 kindergartens
  • Transportation: railway, unpaved roads
  • Communication Network: internet, telegraph, postal services


The town is located in the Caribbean coastal plain and is crossed by the railway that runs from Tela to La Ceiba.


  • North: Caribbean Sea
  • South: Municipality of Olanchito (Yoro)
  • East: Municipality of El Porvenir
  • West: Municipality of La Masica