Skip to content
NICARAGUA :: Calendar :: Consulates :: National Symbols


Consulate of Nicaragua in San Francisco, California

Address: James Flood Building, 870 Market Street, #518, San Francisco, CA 94102

Consulate of Nicaragua in Nueva York, NY

Address: 820 Second Avenue, Suite 802, New York City, NY 10017

Consulate of Nicaragua in Nueva Orleans, Illinois

Address: World Trade Center, 2 Canal Street, #1937, New Orleans, Illinois 70130

Nicaragua – Country Profile and General Information

Nicaragua, officially the Republic of Nicaragua, is a country located on the Central American isthmus, the capital and most populous political city is Managua. It is made up of fifteen departments and two autonomous regions: North and South Caribbean Coast, whose capitals are Puerto Cabezas and Bluefields, respectively.

It is located in the northern hemisphere, between the equator and the Tropic of Cancer, approximately between 11° and 15° North latitude and with respect to the Greenwich meridian, between 83° and 88° West longitude

The territory of Nicaragua has an approximate area of 130,494 km², bordered to the north by Honduras, to the south by Costa Rica, to the west by the Pacific Ocean, and to the east by the Caribbean Sea. Regarding maritime limits, in the Pacific Ocean it borders El Salvador, Honduras and Costa Rica; while in the Caribbean Sea it borders Honduras, Colombia and Costa Rica.

The languages of the original indigenous peoples are recognized, such as Nicaraguan Creole English, Miskito, Sumu or Sumo, Garífuna and Rama.

Inhabited by pre-Columbian peoples, the coast of the Pacific Ocean and part of the central region of the current territory of Nicaragua was conquered by Spain in the 16th century, where the Province of Nicaragua was established, which belonged to the Spanish Empire (1502-1821 ), then the First Mexican Empire (1821-1823), the United Provinces of Central America (1823-1824), and the Federal Republic of Central America (1824-1838), emerged as an independent country in 1838, under the name of "State of Nicaragua" and began to be called the Republic of Nicaragua, since 1854.

Nicaragua is a volcanic and tropical country, inside it is also home to two large lakes: Xolotlán and Cocibolca or “Great Lake of Nicaragua”.